Rental Reviews

Rental Reviews of Lakeside Cabins Resort

Testimonial Video

“Love…..love…..love this place!”

5 of 5 Stars

This was our first stay at Lakeside Cabin Resort…and one word sums it up “awesome”! We live in Plainfield, IL so LCR is only 75 miles from us…and what a diamond we found. The cabin we rented was located right on Wilkinson Lake. The cabin was clean and cozy for the five of us. The facilities can’t be beat! We had three teenagers with us and they loved it too. Enjoyed the paddleboarding, kayaking and fishing. We looked at several cabins that are for sale and would love to own one here. Very close to New Buffalo Beach and the marina. Dinner at Redamac’s was delicious and visited Oinks for their homemade ice cream. The onsite managers were very friendly and provided great service. If you want a place that is friendly, clean and offer great ammenities Lakeside Cabin Resort is the place!

Linda P.
Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
Stayed: Jul 2014
Source: HomeAway.com

“Great cabin; great amenities. Perfect getaway!”

5 of 5 Stars

We decided on a whim to take a weekend trip to Harbor Country and found that Lakeside Cabin Resorts was a pet friendly property, which allowed us to pack up our furry child and not worry about a dog sitter. Ted was great while making the reservation and checking in and offered us some great resources on the area. The cabin was well cleaned and ready for a nice relaxing weekend getaway for my husband and I! We spent the first day exploring the area and walked around the property. The second day was spent at the pool that was sparkling clean and not too crowded with kids. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning soon!
Submitted:

Erin G.
Jun 24, 2014
Stayed: Jun 2014
Source: HomeAway.com

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”

5 of 5 Stars

This was our 3rd stay at Lakeside Cabins. This place is perfect for a weekend getaway and is just a short drive from Chicago. The cabins have everything you need when you arrive. The cabins are clean and perfect for a family with kids.

The cabins are very close to Lake Michigan, the Michigan Wine Trail and several great restaurants. Our favorite restaurants are Red Arrow Roadhouse, Skips and Soe Cafe.

Ted and his staff go out of their way to make sure that your stay here is perfect.
Submitted:

Tony P.
Oct 21, 2013
Stayed: Oct 2013
Source: HomeAway.com

“Time in Harbor country”
 
4 of 5 Stars

At least once per year my family and I gather in New Buffalo to enjoy the beach and general charming feel of Harbor country. We usually cram into 2 hotel rooms and are forced to eat 3 meals per day out. This year we decided to stay at Lakeside Cabin Resort. The resort is only 5-10 minutes from the public beaches of New Buffalo. We were able to relax and eat most of our meals in the cabin. We extremely enjoyed having the lakeside cabin with a dock so we could do a little fishing. The pools were well maintained and also refreshing. The cabin was small and carpet needed to be replaced but those things aside we enjoyed our stay.
Submitted:

Susan F.
Jul 16, 2013
Stayed: Jul 2013
Source: HomeAway.com

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
 
5 of 5

We live in the south suburbs of Chicago and this is the perfect weekend getaway. It’s just the right amount of driving time. We stayed here two times and had an excellent time. The place is very relaxing and they do a good job of making it an enjoyable getaway.

The cabin is the perfect size for the my wife, 2 kids and 2 dogs. It had everything that we needed to make our trip enjoyable. It was described perfectly.

The grounds themselves are clean and well maintained. You can tell the owners take great pride. The kids loved fishing and taking the dogs for walks. We felt safe too. We are already planning our next trip there.

My daughter left some books in the cabin when we checked out. I contacted the owner since the books were somewhat expensive. They shipped them to us at NO cost. Now that is what I call customer experience .
Submitted:

Palos Heights, IL
May 24, 2013
Stayed: May 2013
Source: HomeAway.com

“Camping Refined”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Lakeside is a newer gated resort located 4 or 5 miles northeast of New Buffalo, MI. Amenities include a large heated swimming pool, two lakes for fishing and kayaking, a basketball court, and a large lodge with an indoor gaming area. There’s also a pavilion for group gatherings and a community fire pit. The grounds are well groomed and the improvements neatly maintained.

The “cabins” – many of which are privately owned and rented when not in use – are a cross between a travel trailer and a mobile home. Each is sided with cedar and improved with a screened porch that makes up for the somewhat cramped interior quarters. The cabin we rented had a reasonably comfortable queen bed that filled most of our bedroom. A loft with a 4-foot ceiling was located above where our kids slept on provided air mattresses. One down side is that towels and linens are not provided. The kitchen featured a full-size refrigerator, stove and microwave. There was a very small flat screen television in the 10′ x 10′ living/dining room. Free WiFi was available in the lodge.

Lakeside is a best bet for families who want to enjoy the outdoors without the hassle of setting up tents and a Coleman stove. The kids concocted s’mores over a campfire outside our cabin at night and ran all over the resort and nearby woods during the day. For the bike enthusiast, nearby Three Oaks, MI offers miles of well-marked rides on asphalt farm-to-market roads. During our visit, we participated in the Apple Cider Century when over 5,000 cyclist descended on the area to ride amid the corn and bean fields, apple orchards and vineyards.

I’m not sure if Lakeside is open during the winter. If it is, this might not be my first choice. To fully appreciate this spot, you’ll want to be outside.

Room Tip: The screened porch attached to each cabin varies in size. Be sure to request a cabin with a large p…
Source – Tripadvisor.com

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family

“This Place is a Gem”

8/18/2014 – 5 Stars

This place is a gem! We booked a cabin at the resort last minute with another couple. We stayed in Cabin 26-C. Perfectly situated, quiet, and fully stocked with everything we could have needed! The cabin was immaculate and tastefully decorated. We enjoyed every second of it! The lodge manager was very nice and friendly. Overall a great experience! I would highly recommend!

Tanya M. – Wheaton, IL

Source – Yelp.com

“Frequent Flyer”

8/10/2014 – 5 Stars

Have stayed here many times and love it and the area. Very restful and tons of things for the kids to do.

Mike B. – North Aurora

Source – Yelp.com

“I have been taking my family to LCR for the past 6 years.”

3/1/2012 – 5 Stars

I have been taking my family to LCR for the past 6 years.  This place is so tranquil and charming.  I love how the park trailer models look like little log cabins.  Yes, the cabins are small…but I consider them a camping luxury.  They are equipped with central air, modern appliances and indoor plumbing. Roughing it here? NO….but still having all the benefits of camping..yes!  And the best part about these cabins is the sleeping lofts….my kids absolutely love this feature.  The resort offers a lot of fun activities while being in an intimate setting.  There’s fishing, boating, swimming, beach play in the sand, volleyball, basketball, shuffleboard, bike riding, campfires, hiking, and bbq ing.  The faciitlies are clean and the pools are great.  We really enjoy our long weekends at LakesideCabinsResort and look forward to coming back year after year.  The best part is that it’s only a short drive from Chicago.  (about 60-90 minutes) .

Dawn D. – Cook, IL

Source – Yelp.com